Mississippi Review

Among the finest literary magazines of the moment.

Mississippi Review Prize

Annual fiction and poetry awards -- $1000 for best story, $1000 for best poem. The 2001competition began Jan 1, and the  deadline is May 31. 

Guidelines for entry:

Winners and finalists (usually two dozen stories and poems) are published in print and online editions of Mississippi Review. The competition is open to all U.S. writers except current or former students and employees of USM. Fiction entries should be 5000 words or less; poetry entries three poems comprising ten pages or less. There is no limit on number of entries. Entry fee is $15 per entry payable to "Mississippi Review Prize" and includes a complimentary copy of the prize issue (available early 2002, cover price $12). Please put your name, address, phone, e-mail, and title of the work on page one of each entry. The deadline is May 31, 2001. No manuscripts will be returned. Previously published work is ineligible. Winners will be announced on or before November 1, 2001. Send entries to MR Prize 2001, Box 5144, Hattiesburg, MS 39406-5144. Questions? Call 601-266-4321 or e-mail Contest Coordinator (rief@netdoor.com). Sponsored by the Center for Writers at The University of Southern Mississippi. (AA/EOE/ADAI)


Copyright Center for Writers,
The University of Southern Mississippi, aa/eoe/adai
Published by Web Del Sol

This site maintained by
Neil Smith & Friends.



The University of Southern Mississippi

Pourquoi étude au Centre pour des Auteurs?

Unfashionably hip, unbearably wry. We live and work in the heart of Mississippi, where the living is easy, the weeks are short, the affection is genuine. There are maybe three dozen students working toward M.A. and Ph.D. degrees in fiction and poetry with Frederick Barthelme, Mary Robison, Angela Ball, Steven Barthelme, David Berry, Kim Herzinger, and visitors such as Rick Moody, Amy Hempel, Lucie Brock-Broido, Dana Gioia, Padgett Powell, Michael Waters, Mary Gaitskill, Julia Slavin, C. Michael Curtis and others. Recent graduates have won The Whiting Award, The Transatlantic Award, The Playboy Fiction Contest, and The Flannery O’Connor Award and have published widely. We edit and publish Mississippi Review, run workshops, host visitors, and help our students become better writers. Small program, large results. For information contact Rie Fortenberry, Centre pour des Auteurs, The University of Southern Mississippi, Box 5144, Hattiesburg, MS 39406-5144. Or rief@netdoor.com. Or check the web site at http://sushi.st.usm.edu/mrw/ (AA/EOE/ADAI)

The Permanent Faculty

Angela Ball is a prize-winning poet and author of Kneeling Between Parked Cars and Possession. Her book, Quartet, was released in 1995 by Carnegie Mellon University Press, and her new collection of poems, The Museum of the Revolution: 58 Exhibits, was published last year by Carnegie Mellon Press.

Frederick Barthelme is author of fourteen books including Moon Deluxe, Second Marriage, Tracer, Two Against One, Natural Selection, The Brothers, Painted Desert, and Bob the Gambler. He is an occasional contributor to The New Yorker and has published in GQ, Kansas Quarterly, Epoch, Playboy, Esquire, TriQuarterly, North American Review, Frank, and elsewhere. His memoir, Double Down: Reflections on Gambling and Loss, released in November 1999, was co-authored with his brother Steven. A retrospective collection of stories, The Law of Averages, was published by Counterpoint in November 2000.

Mary Robison, the novelist and short story writer, is author of Days, Oh!, An Amateur's Guide to the Night, Believe Them, and Subtraction. She is a long-time contributor to The New Yorker and has published in Esquire, and many other national magazines. Her stories have been selected for inclusion in The Pushcart Prize Annual and Best American Short Stories, and numerous other anthologies and textbooks. She is a past recipient of a Guggenheim Grant and her new novel, Why Did I Ever, is scheduled for publication next year. 

David Berry, poet and author of Saigon Cemetery and Divorce Boxing, has published hundreds of poems and has appeared in all of the leading literary magazines. He is the Charles Moorman Distinguished Professor in the Humanities and has won three excellence-in-teaching awards.

Steven Barthelme publishes widely in literary magazines; he has a story collection, And He Tells the Little Horse the Whole Story, and he won a Pushcart Prize in 1993; his nonfiction appears in the New York Times Magazine, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Texas Observer, Elle Decor, and elsewhere. His memoir, Double Down: Reflections on Gambling and Loss, released by Houghton Mifflin in November 1999, was co-authored with his brother.

Kim Herzinger is a critic and fiction writer, winner of a Pushcart Prize, and writer on minimalism and other contemporary literary phenomena; he is editing the collected works of Donald Barthelme and working on a book about American literature at mid-century.





An annual collection of stories and poems from the workshops at the Center for Writers, edited and published by Center students. Click the link above for an Adobe Acrobat (PDF) version of issue 12. (A two minute download at 56K; requires Acrobat Reader)

Click for information about the program

Or contact:

Rie Fortenberry

Alumni books and achievements

The Center for Writers Visitors Series

The Center sponsors a slightly erratic series of visiting writers, recently including Lucie Brock-Broido, Rick Moody, Amy Hempel, Julia Slavin, Dana Gioia, Mary Gatskill, Frank Bidart, Antonya Nelson, Joy Williams, Padgett Powell, Ellen Douglas, Tom Drury, Thom Jones, W.D. Snodgrass and others too numerous to mention here..