Current Issue > Summer 2003 > Contributors and Cover credit

Contributor Notes and Cover Credit: Summer 2003


"Equine #116" by Sue Kyllönen. Sue Kyllönen is a horse trainer and fine art photographer living in Minnesota. She shows her horses and her photography throughout the United States. Her work has been published in Horse People
and Minnesota Monthly.

Design by Dika Eckersley.


Jonis Agee is the author of four novels, Sweet Eyes, Strange Angels, South of Resurrection, and The Weight of Dreams, five collections of short fiction, and two books of poetry. Among her many awards are a National Endowment for the Arts grant in fiction, a Loft-McNight Award, and a Loft-McNight Award of Distinction. Three of her novels, Strange Angels, Bend This Heart, and Sweet Eyes, were New York Times Notable Books. Her newest collection of fiction, Acts of Love on Indigo Road, was published this Spring by Coffee House Press. She is a professor at the University of Nebraska - Lincoln and director of the Nebraska Summer Writer's Conference.


Maureen Aitken’s fiction has appeared or is forthcoming in The Journal, Night Train, The MacGuffin, Women’s Words, and Puerto del Sol. She has twice been nominated for a Pushcart Prize. Her short story, “This is Art,” received an award in Ireland’s Fish Short Story Prize. She teaches writing at the University of Minnesota’s General College.

Jane Barnes is the author of two novels I, Krupskaya and Double Lives. Her script for the Frontline documentary, “Pope John Paul II: The Millennial Pope,”won the 2001 Writers Guild Award for Best Documentary on Current Events.

Carol Bly’s fiction has most recently appeared in The Idaho Review. Her essay, “How Radiation Oncology Nearly Made Me a Republican” appeared in the October, 2002 issue of Hotel Amerika. Her short story, “My Lord Bag of Rice,” was included in the Pushcart 25th anniversary collection.

Alan Cheuse’s most recent book is Listening to the Page, a collection of essays. He reviews books for National Public Radio’s All Things Considered and is a professor of creative writing at George Mason University.

Ann Darby is the author of The Orphan Game (William Morrow 1999, Harper Perennial 2000). Her work has appeared in The Northwest Review, The Malahat Review, and The Best of Story Quarterly, and was awarded the Bennett Cerf Prize.

Debra Earling is the author of Perma Red, a Barnes and Noble Discover Great New Writers selection. She is an associate professor of English at the University of Montana.

Greg Hewett is the author of two collections of poetry, most recently, Red Suburb (Coffee House Press, 2002). He teaches at Carleton College.

Jesse Lee Kercheval’s writing text, Building Fiction, and her novel, The Museum of Happiness, have both been reissued by the University of Wisconsin Press. She teaches at the University of Wisconsin where she directs both the Wisconsin Institute for Creative Writing and their new MFA program.

Debra Monroe is the author of two story collections, The Source of Trouble, which one the Flannery O'Connor Award, and A Wild, Cold State, as well as the novel, Newfangled. She lives in Wimberley, Texas.

Kent Nelson’s Language in the Blood won the Edward Abbey Ecofiction Prize. His latest novel, Land That Moves, Land That Stands Still, will be released in July, 2003 by Viking Penguin.

Lon Otto is the author of two short story collections: A Nest of Hooks (U of Iowa P) and Cover Me (Coffee House Press). He teaches literature and writing at the University of St.Thomas.

Susan Jackson Rodgers has had stories published in Beloit Fiction Journal, Story Quarterly, Willow Review, and elsewhere. Her first collection of fiction, The Trouble With You Is, has won Mid-List Press's First Series Award and will be released this August.

Danna Layton Sides is a mixed-media artist. She teaches English and creative writing at Bountiful High School, in Dayton, Utah. This is her first publication.

Marcos Villatoro’s novel, Home Killings, was chosen Best Book of 2001 by the Los Angeles Times. His latest novel, Minos: A Romilia Chacón Novel, will be published in the Fall of 2003. He teaches at Mount St. Mary’s College, Los Angeles.

Lex Williford’s book, Macauley’s Thumb, shared the 1993 Iowa School of Letters Award for Short Fiction. Coeditor of the Scribner Anthology of Contemporary Short Fiction, he teaches in the bilingual writing program at the University of Texas, El Paso.

Jennifer Willoughby is a Minneapolis-based writer whose work has recently appeared in Spinning Jenny, Night Rally, and Conduit. She also works as a senior editor of a web services company.

About PS   What's New   Curr Iss   Subscriptions Submissions  Archives E-mail   PS Home   UNL Home