Winter 2004 > Contributors and Cover Credit

Contributor Notes and Cover Credit: Winter 2004


Image by Dika Eckersley © 2004







Sarah Gorham is the author of three collections of poetry, including The Cure (Four Way Books). She is Editor-in-Chief and co-founder of Sarabande Books.

Linda Lappin is the author of The Etruscan, a novel set in Italy in 1922.

Carole Simmons Oles is the author of six books of poetry, most recently Sympathetic Systems (Lynx House P).

Susan Jackson Rodgers teaches creative writing at Kansas State University. Her collection, The Trouble With You Is, is available from Mid-List Press.

Michelle Wildgen is an assistant editor at Tin House. Her stories have appeared in Rosebud, the Madison Review, and others.


Ellen Bass’s collection, Mules of Love (BOA Ed) won the Lambda Literary Award. Her work appears in this year’s Pushcart Prize Anthology.

Toni Brown is a Cave Canem Fellow and a recipient of a Leeway Foundation Poetry Grant.

Rick Bursky lives in Southern California, where he works as a copywriter. His work appears in American Poetry Review, Harvard Review, and Black Warrior Review.

Suzanne Cleary is the author of Keeping Time (Carnegie Mellon UP). Her poems appear in Mississippi Review and Southern Poetry Review.

Alfred Corn’s most recent book of poems is Contradictions (Copper Canyon P). He is a frequent contributor to the New York Times Book Review, the Washington Post Book World, and the Nation.

Fang Dai is co-translator of The Red Azalea: Chinese Poetry since the Cultural Revolution (U of Hawaii P) and the author of three novels, The Third Desire, The Curtain of Night, and Boasters’ Room 303.

Dennis Ding is co-translator of The Red Azalea: Chinese Poetry since the Cultural Revolution (U of Hawaii P). His translations of English works into Chinese appear in leading Chinese publications.

Kathleen Flenniken has published work in Iowa Review, Hayden’s Ferry Review, and South Carolina Review.

David Keplinger’s poems appear in Poetry, Gettysburg Review, Virginia Quarterly, and elsewhere. His first book, The Rose Inside, won the T. S. Eliot Award.

William Kloefkorn is the author of Sunrise, Dayglow, Sunset, Moon (Talking River) and Restoring the Burnt Child (U of Nebraska P).

Moira Linehan is a former high school English teacher. Her poems have appeared in Alaska Quarterly Review, Crab Orchard Review, and Poetry. Her collection, If No Moon, was a finalist in the 2003 Prairie Schooner Prize Book Series.

Anne Marie Macari’s first book, Ivory Cradle, won the America Poetry Review/Honickman First Book Prize in 2000.

Sharon McDermott’s recent publications include Pearl, Seneca Review, 5 AM, and Southern Poetry Review.

Edward Morin is editor and co-translator of The Red Azalea: Chinese Poetry since the Cultural Revolution (U of Hawaii P). His poems have appeared in Hudson Review, Ploughshares, and Iowa Review.

Linda Pastan is the author of ten collections of poetry, including The Last Uncle (W. W. Norton).

Peter Pereira is a physician living in Seattle. His first book, Saying the World (Copper Canyon P), won the Hayden Carruth Award. His poems appear in Poetry, Virginia Quarterly Review, and Caffeine Destiny.

David Romtvedt’s poetry has appeared in Ploughshares, American Poetry Review, and Paris Review. His books include A Flower whose Name I Do Not Know (Copper Canyon P), which was a National Poetry Series winner.

Enid Shomer is the author of four books of poetry, most recently Stars at Noon (Arkansas UP). Her poems appear in the Atlantic, Poetry, and the New Criterion.

Sue William Silverman’s first memoir, Because I Remember Terror, Father, I Remember You (U of Georgia P) was a winner of the AWP Award Series. Her second, Love Sick: One Woman’s Journey Through Sexual Addiction is available from W. W. Norton.

Maurya Simon’s books inlcude Ghost Orchid (Red Hen P), A Brief History of Puncuation (Sutton Hoo P) and The Golden Labyrinth (U of Missouri P).

Samn Stockwell’s poetry has been published in Ploughshares, Seneca Review, and the New Yorker. Her first book of poetry, Theater of Animals, was a National Poetry Series Winner; her second, Recital, was published this year by Elixir Press.

Marc J. Strauss directs a medical oncology practice in New York. He is the author of two collections, One Word and Symmetry, both published by TriQuarterly-Northwestern UP.

Adrienne Su is poet-in-residence and assistant professor at Dickinson College and the author of Middle Kingdom (Alice James).

Cai Qijiao’s first three books of poetry were issued in the 1950's. Following government censure of his work, Cai Qijiao did not publish for twenty years. His books published since the Cultural Revolution include The Double Rainbow, Praying, Facing the Wind, Drunken Stone, and Lyric Poems.

David Williams is the author of Traveling Mercies (Alice James). His new work appears in Flyway, Terra Incognita, Luna, and Image.

Chunjian Xue is a fiction writer living in Chicago.


Hadara Bar-Nadav is a Ph.D. student at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Her work appears in Malahat Review, Pleiades, Spoon River Poetry Review, and others.

Ted Kooser’s most recent book of poems is Delights & Shadows, published by Copper Canyon Press.

Paul Scott Stanfield is a professor of English at Nebraska Wesleyan University and the author of Yeats and Politics in the 1930's (St. Martin’s P).

Elaine Sexton’s poems have appeared in American Poetry Review, New Letters, and Women’s Review of Books. Her first book of poems, Sleuth, is available from New Issues Press.

About PS   What's New   Curr Iss   Subscriptions Submissions  Archives E-mail   PS Home   UNL Home