What's New > Prairie Schooner Book Prize Series - Winners Announced

Meet the winners of the 2005 Prairie Schooner Book Prize Series competition.

Prairie Schooner and the University of Nebraska Press are pleased to announce the winners of the 2005 Prairie Schooner Book Prizes. The winners will each receive a $3,000 prize and publication of their books through the University of Nebraska Press.


Kathleen Flenniken

Kathleen Flenniken's poems appear in Southern Review, Mid-American Review, the Iowa Review, Poetry, and Prairie Schooner. She is the recepient of fellowships from the NEA and Artist Trust and her poems have been included in the King County Poetry on Buses Project. She holds BS and MS degrees in civil engineering and was a practicing engineer for eight years. She lives in Seattle, Washington. Kathleen Flenniken's winning collection, Famous, will be published by the University of Nebraska Press in 2006.


John Keeble

John Keeble is the author of four novels, including Yellowfish and Broken Ground, and of the nonfiction book, Out of the Channel: The Exxon Valdez Oil Spill in Prince William Sound. His short fiction and nonfiction have appeared in the Village Voice, American Short Fiction, Prairie Schooner, Outside, and Best American Short Stories, among others. He has won a Guggenheim Fellowship and a Washington State Governor's Award. He lives in Eastern Washington. John Keeble's winning collection, currently untitled, will be published by the University of Nebraska Press in 2006.

We thank all those who submitted manuscripts to this year's competition! We were delighted by both the high number and the high quality of the submissions received. There were many wonderful manuscripts, and our decision was a difficult one. We hope to see more of your work in next year's contest.

The 2006 Prairie Schooner Prize Series will award $3,000 and publication to one collection of poetry and one collection of fiction. Information for the 2006 competition will be posted in due course on this site. The submission period for the contest will be January 15th through March 15th, 2006.

The 2004 winning books, Carrying the Torch by Brock Clarke and Adonis Garage by Rynn Williams will be available from the University of Nebraska Press this Fall and can be ordered from their website and most bookstores.  

About PS   What's New   Curr Iss   Subscriptions  Submissions   Archives  E-mail   PS Home   UNL Home