About Prairie Schooner > Prairie Schooner History

Prairie Schooner History

Prairie Schooner is an international literary quarterly published with the support of the English Department at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and the University of Nebraska Press. The magazine's reputation for publishing excellent contemporary fiction, poetry, essays, and translations by Pulitzer Prize winners, Nobel laureates, and National Endowment for the Arts recipients is summed up by Literary Magazine Review: "Prairie Schooner rolls along, avoiding the quagmires of fads and schisms, steadfastly defining the American idiom."

Founded at the University of Nebraska in 1926 by Lowry C. Wimberly, Prairie Schooner has had five editors, each of distinction, over a seventy year history: Lowry C. Wimberly, 1927-1956; Karl Shapiro, 1956-1963; Bernice Slote, 1963-1980; Hugh Luke, 1980-1987; and Hilda Raz, 1987 to date.

Short stories and essays from Prairie Schooner are consistently republished in Best American Short Stories, Best American Essays, and Pushcart Prize anthologies and the magazine is listed by the Washington Post as one of the best magazines for "fabulous fiction," and by the Dictionary of Literary Biography and Writer's Digest as one of the top ten magazines for poetry.

Previous contributors include: Joyce Carol Oates, Tennessee Williams, Raymond Carver, Reynolds Price, Rita Dove, and Richard Russo.

Distinguished Nebraska contributors include Willa Cather, Mari Sandoz, Weldon Kees, Loren Eiseley, Wright Morris, Ron Hansen, Ted Kooser, Kathleene West, Greg Kuzma, and Nebraska's Poet Laureate, William Kloefkorn.

Currently in its seventy-sixth year of continuous publication in 2002, Prairie Schooner is one of the most celebrated literary magazines in the nation.