What's New > Annual Prairie Schooner Prize winners announced!

Prairie Schooner Prizes

Annual Prairie Schooner Writing Prizes Awarded

Thanks to generous donors, Prairie Schooner was able to give fourteen writing prizes for work published in its 2003 volume. Prairie Schooner is a quarterly magazine dedicated to publishing the best available writing, by both established and emerging writers, and has been published continuously since 1926. Prairie Schooner is published with the support of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln English Department and the University of Nebraska Press.

The Lawrence Foundation Award, a prize of $1,000, goes to Debra Magpie Earling for her story, "Real Indians" in the Summer 2003 issue.

The Virginia Faulkner Award for Excellence in Writing, a prize of $1,000, goes to Robert Olen Butler for his piece, "Severance: Three Fictions," in the Winter 2003 issue.

The Bernice Slote Award, a prize of $500 awarded for the best work by a beginning writer, goes to Judith Beck, for her essay, "Button Up Your Overcoat," in the Fall 2003 issue.

The Glenna Luschei Prairie Schooner Award, a prize of $1,000, is awarded to Lee Martin, for his essay "Turning Bones," in Spring 2003.

The Hugh J. Luke Award, a prize of $250, goes to Valerie Miner, for her story "Percussion."

The Annual Prairie Schooner Strousse Award of $500 goes to Lee Ann Roripaugh for her two poems in the Fall 2003 issue.

The Edward Stanley Award of $1000 goes to Richard Tayson for his two poems in the Winter 2003 issue.

The Prairie Schooner Readers' Choice Awards of $250 each went to:

Sharon Oard Warner for her story, "Signs of Life," Spring 2003

Jeanne Murray Walker for her four poems in Winter 2003

Nance Van Winckel for four poems in Spring 2003

Carol Bly for her story, "Love in a Time of Empire, Summer 2003

Ann Darby for her story, "Pity My Simplicity," in Summer 2003

Jana Harris for her poems in Fall 2003.

These prizes are awarded to work published in Prairie Schooner during the preceding year. Members of the Department of English at the University of Nebraska - Lincoln are not elgible for these prizes.