BWR's Third-Ever Fiction and Poetry Contest

Thanks to everyone who entered!

The THIRD time's a charm and this year's contest is no exception.
The First Place Winner in each category will receive $1,000 and
Publication in Spring 2008!

Guest Judges this year are Dean Young (poetry) and Josh Russell (fiction).

Send your entry to:
Fiction Contest OR Poetry Contest
Black Warrior Review
Box 862936
Tuscaloosa, AL 35486

The Black Warrior Review will only consider previously unpublished

Finalists in each category will receive notation in the Spring 2008
issue and are also considered for publication.

Each entry must include name, phone number, and email on cover sheet
only, as well as SASE and reading fee.

The Reading Fee is $15 per short story (up to 7500 words) and $15 per
group of up to 3 poems. Make checks payable to The University of

All contestants will also receive a complimentary one-year
subscription. That's a whole dollar cheaper than ordering by
conventional means. It's a deal, it's a steal, it's the sale of the

All entries must be postmarked by October 5, 2007.

Thanks for your interest and good luck. We look forward to your


Josh Russell is the recipient of a National Endowment for the Arts
Literature Fellowship and the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference Shane
Stevens Fellowship in the Novel. He is the author of the novel Yellow
Jack, the novella Dakota, the limited edition Winter on Fifth Avenue,
New York, and forty stories that have appeared in literary magazines and
anthologies including Black Warrior Review and New Stories from the
South. He teaches in the Georgia State University creative writing
program—the New South’s Writing Workshop (—and lives in
a small town outside of Atlanta.

Dean Young has published eight collections of poetry, most recently embryoyo and Elegy on Toy Piano which was a finalist for the 2006 Pulitzer Prize. He has received fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts as well as a 2007 Literature Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. He teaches at the Iowa Writers' Workshop.

Congratulations to the winners of

The Black Warrior Review's Second-Ever Fiction and Poetry Contests:

Poetry: Beth Ann Fennelly for "Cow Tipping"
Fiction: Eben Wood for "The Masturah Well"

And to our finalists:

Maureen Alsop
Kim Burwick
Jennifer Chapis
Amanda Chiado
Delpha Czilli
Bronwen Densmore
Natalie G. Diaz
Jeffrey Levine
Tao Lin
Kimberly M. Lojek
Lauren Shapiro
Sarah E. Smith
Mary Austin Speaker
Cecilia Woloch

Jennifer Colville
Thomas Gough
Travis Hessman
Evan Lavender-Smith
Buzz Mauro
Emma Wunsch

Also, thanks to this year's judges, Denise Duhamel and Steve Tomasula.

And. of course, thanks so much to everyone who submitted.

The Third-Ever BWR Fiction and Poetry Contest will open May, 2007. Better start preparing now.

Questions about the contest? Email us at

*Black Warrior Review Complies with The Council of Literary Magazines and Presses' Contest Code of Ethics.

See who won last year's contest