What Crazyhorse does

Crazyhorse publishes the entire spectrum of today’s fiction, essays, and poetry—from the mainstream to the avant-garde, from the established to the undiscovered writer.

About Crazyhorse

Crazyhorse was founded in 1960 by the poet Tom McGrath. Since that time, it has published some of the most important writers of the last half century, including John Updike, Raymond Carver, Jorie Graham, John Ashbery, Robert Bly, Ha Jin, W. P. Kinsella, Richard Wilbur, James Wright, Carolyn Forché, Charles Simic, Charles Wright, Billy Collins, Galway Kinnell, James Tate, and Franz Wright. In our pages, you’ll find some of the finest writing being published today: Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award winners, Guggenheim fellows, NEA fellowship recipients, and authors with awards from the O. Henry Prize, Pushcart Prize, and Best American anthologies.


Carol Ann Davis, Editor
Garrett Doherty, Editor
Anthony Varallo, Fiction Editor

Recent Honors and News

James Tate's "The Loser," from Crazyhorse Number 66, will appear in The Best American Poetry 2006. John Ashbery’s “In Dearest, Deepest Winter,” from Crazyhorse Number 64, was reprinted in The Best American Poetry 2005.  Richard Jackson’s poem “Cain’s Legacy,” from Crazyhorse 62, won a 2004 Pushcart Prize.  Dinty W. Moore’s essay “Son of Mr. Green Jeans,” from Crazyhorse 63, was reprinted in the January 2004 Harper’s Magazine.

Crazyhorse is proud to announce that production for its year 2006 issues is supported in part by an award from the National Endowment for the Arts, which believes that a great nation deserves great art.

National Endowment for the Arts logo